Winter Break - school closed
Thursday, December 25, 2014 - » More
Contact Information

Contact Information

The list below is organized by divisions. To jump to a division, click on a link below:

Administrative Staff Preschool Faculty Lower School Faculty Middle School Faculty Upper School Faculty

Melvin J. Berman Hebrew Academy
13300 Arctic Avenue
Rockville, MD 20853
301-962-9400
www.mjbha.org

For questions or concerns regarding the website, contact the webmaster at webmaster@mjbha.org.

 

ADMINISTRATION

Dr. Joshua Levisohn 5177 Headmaster levisohnj@mjbha.org
Rebecca Gautieri 5129 Preschool Director gautierir@mjbha.org
Rachel Handloff 5184 Lower School Principal, Student Affairs handloffr@mjbha.org
Suzy Israel 5187 Lower School Principal, Educational Director israels@mjbha.org
Rabbi Moshe Shields 5120 Middle School Principal shieldsm@mjbha.org
Batsheva Atlas 5151 Middle School Dean of Students atlasb@mjbha.org
Rabbi Avi Levitt 5588 Upper School Principal levitta@mjbha.org
Rabbi Shimmy Trencher 5173 Upper School Dean of Students trenchers@mjbha.org
Faina Stepensky 5164 Finance Director stepenskyf@mjbha.org
Jennifer Zukerman 5183 Director of Institutional Advancement zukermanj@mjbha.org
 Michal Pozmanter  5165 Development Director  pozmanterm@mjbha.org
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANTS
Lynn Harris 5219 Upper School Administrative Assistant harrisl@mjbha.org
Robyn Lebowitz 5178 Executive Assistant to Headmaster lebowitzr@mjbha.org
Naftali Quartey 5140 Lower School Administrative Assistant quarteyn@mjbha.org
Abby Rose 5217 Middle School Administrative Assistant rosea@mjbha.org
EDUCATIONAL SUPPORT SERVICES
Suzy Israel 5187 Lower School Principal, Educational Director israels@mjbha.org
Ellen Lingenfelter 5547 Director of Educational Support Services, MS/US lingenfeltere@mjbha.org
Oneg Feuer 5141 Educational Support Services Assistant feuero@mjbha.org
ADMISSIONS
Sharon Butler 5630 Director butlers@mjbha.org
COMMUNICATIONS
Judy Mehlman 5159 Communications Associate mehlmanj@mjbha.org
BUSINESS OFFICE
Hannah Berner 5160 Admin. Assist. bernerh@mjbha.org
Lisa Handelsman 5166 Registrar handelsmanl@mjbha.org
Linda Kaiser 5161 Staff Accountant kaiserl@mjbha.org
Bella Kofman 5245 Student Billing Coordinator kofmanb@mjbha.org
Annetta Nyland 5162 Human Resources Director nylanda@mjbha.org
Yelena Slobodskaya 5179 Accounts Payable Coordinator slobodskayay@mjbha.org
COPY CENTER
Max Neumann 5167 Associate neumannm@mjbha.org
FRONT OFFICE
Noreen Layne 5100 Manager jamesn@mjbha.org
FOOD SERVICES
Sheryl Blaufeld 3100 Manager blaufelds@mjbha.org
NURSE
Shoshana Belgrade 5103 Nurse belgrades@mjbha.org
       
DEBORAH LERNER GROSS JEWISH CULTURAL ARTS CENTER
Sarah Antine    Director antines@mjbha.org
MEDIA CENTER
Cheryl Strausberg 5194 Library/Media Services Director strausbergc@mjbha.org
TRANSPORTATION
Terrence Barton 5171 Director bartont@mjbha.org
Michael Jackson 5168 Transportation dispatcher jacksonm@mjbha.org
BUILDING SERVICES
Filiverto Rodriguez 5101 Director rodriguezf@mjbha.org
Bill Blankson 5193 Security Guard  
Jay Voigt 5250 Security Guard  
INFORMATION LINES
School Info line 5555    
MJBHA Transportation Info 5508    
Parent Teacher Organization 5506    
Scholarship Committee 5526    
Alumni Information 5574    
Hebrew Academy Dramatic Arts Society 5513    
Student Council 5143    
Congregation Beth Joshua 5560    
Sulam Events 5534    
Cougar Camp After School Activities 5159   judy.mehlman@cougarcamp.com


 

PRESCHOOL FACULTY

Mrs. Rebecca Gautieri, Preschool Director, x5129, gautierir@mjbha.org

Nadya Agarunova 5198 3 year old preschool aide agarunovan@mjbha.org
Eva Bazian 5130 2 year old preschool aide baziane@mjbha.org
Mickie Breitstein 5131 4 year old preschool teacher breitsteinm@mjbha.org
Lissette Fuentes 5130 3 year old preschool aide fuentesl@mjbha.org
Maria Mountain 5156 4 year old preschool aide mountainm@mjbha.org
Ahuva Orlofsky 5154 2 year old preschool teacher orlofskya@mjbha.org
Anat Perets     peretsa@mjbha.org
Sarah Sandberg 5156 4 year old preschool teacher sandbergs@mjbha.org
Julie Schreiber 5198 3 year old preschool teacher schreiberj@mjbha.org
Synde Shalvi   Assistant shalvis@mjbha.org
Millie Susser 5130 3 year old preschool teacher susserm@mjbha.org
Tamar Volosov 5155 2 year old preschool teacher volosovt@mjbha.org
Ilana Zarb 5131 4 year old preschool aide zarbi@mjbha.org


 

LOWER SCHOOL FACULTY

Mrs. Suzy Israel, Principal, Educational Director, x5187, israels@mjbha.org

Mrs. Rachel Handloff, Principal, Student Affairs, x5184, handloffr@mjbha.org

Mr. Naftali Quartey, Administrative Assistant, x5140, quarteyn@mjbha.org

Mrs. Oneg Feuer, Administrative Assistant, 5141, feuero@mjbha.org

Ms. Elana Woolf, Counselor, x5195, woolfe@mjbha.org

GENERAL STUDIES
Deborah Anker 5615 4th grade teacher ankerd@mjbha.org
Sally Barucchieri 5504 4th grade teacher barucchieris@mjbha.org
Allene Becker 5505 5th grade teacher beckeral@mjbha.org
Michael Becker 5619 2nd grade teacher beckerm@mjbha.org
Aaron Branda 5567 5th grade math brandaa@mjbha.org
Leah Bresler 5522 Kindergarten teacher breslerl@mjbha.org
Ilana Cohen   1st grade assistant coheni@mjbha.org
Teri Goldstein 5545 1st grade assistant goldsteint@mjbha.org
Marsha Goodman 5515 3rd grade teacher goodmanma@mjbha.org
Mitra Khaldar   Kindergarten assistant khaldarm@mjbha.org
Patti Krieger 5604 2nd and 3rd grade aide kriegerp@mjbha.org
Rebecca Kugler 5105 Kindergarten teacher kuglerr@mjbha.org
Arriane Levine 5566 3rd grade teacher levinea@mjbha.org
Jill Loshin 5181 3rd grade assistant loshinj@mjbha.org
Gail Nadel 5550 1st grade teacher nadelg@mjbha.org
Betsy Otten   Kindergarten assistant ottenb@mjbha.org
Sarah Reiss 5517 Kindergarten teacher reisss@mjbha.org
Galit Rutstein   1st grade assistant rutsteing@mjbha.org
Laurel Schiff 5591 4th grade teacher schiffla@mjbha.org
Lisa Straus 5619 2nd grade assistant strausl@mjbha.org
LIMUDAY KODESH
Hana Adato 5602 5th grade teacher adatoh@mjbha.org
Dina Agassi 5595 4th grade teacher agassid@mjbha.org
Jacqueline Arzouan 5503 3rd grade teacher arzouanj@mjbha.org
Avigail Bacharach 5504 3rd grade teacher bacharacha@mjbha.org
Tova Becker 5133 1st grade teacher beckert@mjbha.org
Anat Carmel 5541 1st grade assistant carmela@mjbha.org
Ilana Cohen   3rd grade assistant coheni@mjbha.org
Michal Dorfman 5514 Kindergarten teacher dorfmanm@mjbha.org
Esther Dziadek 5516 2nd grade teacher dziadeke@mjbha.org
Allison Ginsberg 5594 4th grade teacher ginsberga@mjbha.org
Elana Outmezguine   Kindergarten assistant outmezguinee@mjbha.org
Alanna Pepper   Judaics  peppera@mjbha.org 
Rabbi Avichai Pepper   Judaics  pepperav@mjbha.org
Anat Perets     peretsa@mjbha.org
Adrianne Rosenthal   2nd grade assistant rosenthala@mjbha.org
Dalia Weiss 5583 2nd grade teacher weissd@mjbha.org
Yifat Weizman 5426 5th grade teacher gurvitzl@mjbha.org
Rabbi Mordechai Zucker 5589 4th grade teacher zuckerm@mjbha.org
SPECIALS (ART, MUSIC, PHYSICAL EDUCATION)
Lauren Essig 5242 Phys Ed Teacher essigl@mjbha.org
Emily Friedman 5604 Science Teacher friedmane@mjbha.org
Judy Graber 5600 Music Teacher graberj@mjbha.org
Pat Hynes 5257 Art Teacher hynesp@mjbha.org
Lisi Levisohn 5140 Science teacher levisohnl@mjbha.org
Anat Tadmor 5260 Phys Ed Teacher mrsanat@hotmail.com
EDUCATIONAL SUPPORT SERVICES
Oreet Foltin 5558 Educational Support Teacher foltino@mjbha.org
Irene Holtz 5104 Educational Support Teacher holtzi@mjbha.org
Rabbi Uri Meyers   Educational Support Teacher meyersu@mjbha.org
Rebecca Sabag     sabagr@mjbha.org
Debra Stern     sternd@mjbha.org


 

MIDDLE SCHOOL FACULTY

Rabbi Moshe Shields, Principal, ext. 5120, shieldsm@mjbha.org

Mrs. Batsheva Atlas, Dean of Students, ext. 5151, atlasb@mjbha.org

Mrs. Abby Rose, Administrative Assistant, ext. 5217, rosea@mjbha.org

Ms. Aliza Graber, Counselor, ext. 5271, grabera@mjbha.org

Ellen Lingenfelter, Director for Educational Support Services, x5547, lingenfeltere@mjbha.org

GENERAL STUDIES
Batsheva Atlas 5151 Study skills, World history atlasb@mjbha.org
Aaron Branda 5567 Mathematics brandaa@mjbha.org
Meenu Chopra 5502 Science 7,8 chopram@mjbha.org
Sara Elikan 5425 English elikans@mjbha.org
Nadav Goldberg   Mathematics 7 goldbergn@mjbha.org
Abby Goldbloom-Helzner 5563 Mathematics 6, 7, 8 goldbloom-helznera@mjbha.org
Dr. Josh Levisohn 5177 Mathematics levisohnj@mjbha.org
Kristen Olson 5532 World Studies 6, 7 olsonk@mjbha.org
Susan Oppenheim 5553 Mathematics 6, 7; Science 6 oppenheims@mjbha.org
Victoria Plaza   English 8 plazav@mjbha.org
Rachel Seidel 5564 Educational Support Teacher 7, 8 seidelr@mjbha.org
Pamela Wachutka 5611 English 6, 7 Wachutkap@mjbha.org
Christina Walls 5212 Science, 7 wallsc@mjbha.org
Stephanie Weber 5608 English webers@mjbha.org
Rabbi Mordechai Weissmann 5575 Jewish History 8 weissmannm@mjbha.org
JUDAICS
Penina Blate 5616 Judaic teacher blatep@mjbha.org
Naomi Elimelech   Ivrit teacher elimelechn@mjbha.org
Smadar Epstein 5625 Ivrit teacher epsteins@mjbha.org
Rabbi Jeff Frances 5520 Judaic teacher francesj@mjbha.org
Rene Isser 5533 Judaic teacher, Ivrit chairperson isserr@mjbha.org
Rabbi Binyomin Krakauer 5538 Judaic teacher krakauerb@mjbha.org
Iris Lazaraus 5225 Ivrit teacher madar-lazarusi@mjbha.org 
Rabbi Moshe Mittelman 5596 Talmud mittelmanm@mjbha.org
Alana Pepper   Judaic teacher peppera@mjbha.org
Rabbi Moshe Shields 5120 Judaic teacher shieldsm@mjbha.org
Shaine Spolter 5570 Judaic and Ivrit teacher spolters@mjbha.org
Evan Weiner   Judaic teacher weinere@mjbha.org
Rivka Weingot 5210 Judaic teacher weingotr@mjbha.org
Tova Welik   Judaic teacher welikt@mjbha.org
Rabbi Mordechai Zucker 5589 Judaic teacher zuckerm@mjbha.rg
SPECIALS (ART, MUSIC, SKILLS ROTATIONS, PHYSICAL EDUCATION)
Steve Achhammer 5188 Boys Physical Education achhammers@mjbha.org
Lauren Essig 5242 Girls Physical Education essigl@mjbha.org
Aliza Graber 5241 Skills for Success grabera@mjbha.org
Bob Hynes 5257 Art Appreciation hynesr@mjbha.org
Jazzmin James   Girls Physical Education  jamesj@mjbha.org


 

UPPER SCHOOL FACULTY

Rabbi Avi Levitt, Principal, x5588, levitta@mjbha.org

Rabbi Shimmy Trencher, Dean of Students, x5173, trenchers@mjbha.org

Ms. Lynn Harris, Administrative Assistant, x5219, harrisl@mjbha.org

Mrs. Michelle Jacobs, Director of College Counseling, x 5122, jacobsm@mjbha.org

Ms. Ruby Snyder, Counselor, x5213, snyderr@mjbha.org

Rabbi Grosberg, Israel counselor for boys, x5509, grosbergm@mjbha.org

Pessie Novick, Israel Counselor for Girls, x5270, novickp@mjbha.org

Ellen Lingenfelter, Director for Educational Support Services, x5547, lingenfeltere@mjbha.org

GENERAL STUDIES
Miriam Ahanj-Elias 5540 Chemistry, Geometry Ahanj-eliasm@mjbha.org
Rabbi Joshua Blaustein 5246 Chemistry, Physics, Talmud blausteinj@mjbha.org
Elisheva Carl 5607 Math carle@mjbha.org
Benjamin Foote 5239 English, Sports Health and Fitness footeb@mjbha.org
Jacqueline Fried   AP Euro History friedj@mjbha.org
Abby Goldbloom-Helzner 5563 Math goldbloom-helznera@mjbha.org
Norma Johnson 5220 American Studies johnsonn@mjbha.org
Edward O'Mahony 5501 History omahonye@mjbha.org
Sharon Roberts 5139 Math robertss@mjbha.org
Doug Rodgers 5185 English rodgersd@mjbha.org
Alison Rouleau   Math rouleaua@mjbha.org
Arnold Schwartz   AP Stat, Economics schwartza@mjbha.org
Ruby Snyder 5213 AP Psych snyderr@mjbha.org
Kismet Talaat 5511 Physics talaatk@mjbha.org
Christina Walls 5212 Biology wallsc@mjbha.org
Stephanie Weber 5608 English webers@mjbha.org
JUDAICS
Rabbi Joshua Blaustein 5246 Judaics blausteinj@mjbha.org
Rabbi Eitan Gavson   Judaics gavsone@mjbha.org
Rabbi Moshe Grosberg 5509 Talmud, Kodesh grosbergm@mjbha.org
Rene Isser 5533 Ivrit isserr@mjbha.org
Rabbi Ira Kosowsky 5562 Talmud, Navi kosowskyi@mjbha.org
Rachel Kosowsky 5530 Chumash, Navi kosowskyr@mjbha.org
Daniel Kramer 5273 Talmud kramerd@mjbha.org
Rabbi Jeffrey Kuperman 5231 Talmud kupermanj@mjbha.org
Iris Lazarus 5225 Hebrew madar-lazarusi@mjbha.org
Rabbi Avi Levitt 5588 Math levitta@mjbha.org
Rabbi Moshe Mittelman 5596 Chumash mittelmanm@mjbha.org
Pessie Novick 5270 Tanach novickp@mjbha.org
Ellie Riesel   Judaics riesele@mjbha.org
Rabbi Uri Topolosky 5560 Chumash topoloskyu@mjbha.org
ART, PHYSICAL EDUCATION, ELECTIVES, STUDY SKILLS
Steve Achhammer 5188 Boys Physical Education achhammers@mjbha.org
Aaron Branda 5567 Educational Support Teacher brandaa@mjbha.org
Courtney Chick   Studio Art chickc@mjbha.org
Shannon Dooling   Dance doolings@mjbha.org
Benjamin Foote 5239 Sports, Health and Fitness footeb@mjbha.org
Susan Gershowitz 5563 Sign Language gershowitzs@mjbha.org
Ellen Lingenfelter 5547 Educational Support Teacher Lingenfeltere@mjbha.org
Patricia Hynes 5257 Studio Art hynesp@mjbha.org
Carmita Medina 5132 Spanish medinac@mjbha.org
Kathleen Mulholland   Ceramics mulhollandk@mjbha.org
Lori Provost 5612 Dance provostl@mjbha.org
Rachel Seidel 5564 Educational Support Teacher seidelr@mjbha.org